August Favorites!

Eyes

  • Covergirl Clump Crusher mascara – no clumps at all with this stuff!!
  • Maybelline The Colossal mascara – lots of volume but a little clumpy, so I like to combine it with Clump Crusher
  • Maybelline Color Tattoo in Barely Beige (limited edition but can be found on Amazon) – People say this is a dupe for MAC’s Bare Study paint pot to give you an idea of the shade. It’s beige with a pink undertone and kind of metallic. I use it as a base for a lot of neutral looks and it doesn’t crease or give me any problems. LOVE it!
  • MAC Shale eyeshadow – This is a soft mauve/purple/taupe sort of color and has a satin finish. It works as a lid as well as a crease color because there’s very subtle shimmer. I like it for neutral looks but also use it with a little bit of pink for more color.
  • Lorac Pro Palette Light Pink shade: I love this as a lid color and I especially love it with Shale, but I also love it with all matte looks. It adds a pop of color to the eyes but the color is light enough that you can still consider it neutral.
Right: MAC Shale, Left: Maybelline Color Tattoo Barely Beige

Left: MAC Shale, Right: Maybelline Color Tattoo Barely Beige

Face

  • Maybelline Fit Me concealer – I am absolutely in love with this for concealing under the eyes. I apply it with a beautyblender and set it with MUFE HD Microfinish powder. It has a lot of coverage but is buildable for more.
  • Revlon Nearly Naked pressed powder – This stuff is great for all over the face to set foundation and even everything out. It doesn’t look cakey at all and feels really nice on the skin.
  • NYC Sunny Bronzer – I think this works really well on fair skin tones such as mine. It doesn’t look muddy or orange and I don’t have to use much to get a good contour. It blends out nicely and creates a very natural looking glow. It’s also completely matte which I love in a bronzer.

Skincare

  • Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque – I use this 1-2 times a week and it does a good job of clearing up my skin if I break out. It’s also good for blackheads and enlarged pores. I leave it on for 15 minutes and let it dry completely before I wash it off. It’s pretty thick so a little goes a long way. It smells like toothpaste which I don’t mind but I hear toothpaste is also good for breakouts so I guess that’s a good thing!
  • Benefit skincare line – I am almost done with all the products from my sample set (details from haul post here). The only product I didn’t like was the exfoliator because I like exfoliators that also cleanse and this one just felt rough without any cleansing agent. I liked the regular face wash but I wouldn’t spend $22 for the full size when my usual face wash is just as good (Neutrogena Ultra Gentle Daily Cleanser). I really liked the toner and both the moisturizers and have noticed a difference since I’ve used them. But again, I don’t want to spend that much money on those full-size products. The eye cream is good but I have yet to find something that actually makes my eyes less puffy. I can tell the skin under my eyes is more hydrated though, so I’m going to keep using eye cream as part of my routine.
  • The Body Shop Vitamin E Hydrating Toner – I had never used a toner before the Benefit one and then I realized how important it is! I bought this because it’s alcohol free and hydrating. I didn’t want to get anything that would dry out my skin. I use this every night after I shower, wash my face, and remove my makeup. It feels great and works really well to get all the excess makeup and dirt off my face. I can’t believe I never used a toner before now!
About VT Beauty Nerd

I'm a senior computer science major at Virginia Tech but my true passion is makeup, hair, and nails.

Leave a Reply

