Products I Regret Buying!

  • Urban Decay The Black Palette ($36): This palette came with a mini Primer Potion and contains 6 eyeshadows “dipped in black.” The eyeshadows are the typical good quality of most UD shadows but since they all have a black undertone, they are extremely dark. In the pan, the colors look pretty but when applied they are too dark to differentiate between most of the shades. Unless I was using the colors for a very dark and smokey eye look, I really don’t find these shadows to be wearable enough to make this palette worth while.
  • Lorac CC Cream ($28): I discussed this product in a previous haul post. It doesn’t have enough coverage to actually be an effective color corrector. I had to use 3 layers to cover my slight redness so I really wouldn’t recommend this if you want more coverage than an average tinted moisturizer.
  • Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips in Nude ($11.99): The shadows all look super pretty in the palette but have terrible pigmentation. I tried them with a wet brush and it didn’t make a difference. I also tried spraying my brush with setting spray to see if it would grab onto the product more but that didn’t do anything either.
  • Rimmel London Glam Eyes eyeshadow quad in #028 English Breakfast ($5.99): Same for this as the Shimmer Strips – pretty but not very pigmented colors and wetting the brush with water and setting spray didn’t help.
  • Urban Decay Pore Perfecting Complexion Primer Potion ($31): I’m not sure how the old formula was, but they reformulated this primer sometime around summer 2012. I find this one to be greasy and pretty thin. While it does its job as a primer, I can’t apply it without feeling like my pores are being totally clogged. I much prefer an oil-free primer like Benefit’s Porefessional that leaves a silky, lightweight feeling on the skin.
  • Origins GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream ($30): While this does a decent job at hydrating the eye area, it is supposed to instantly reduce dark circles but does this by having a brightening tone to it. It’s too thin of a formulation to actually reduce the darkness so the brightening factor doesn’t really do much. It doesn’t do anything for my puffy under eye area so I would rather spend less money on a cream if it’s only going to hydrate the area.
  • Tarte Maracuja Cheek Tint in Light Nectar ($25): If you read any reviews, you’ll see that everyone says this stains your fingers. Knowing this, I bought the lightest shade. It does stain your fingers but you can also apply it with a sponge to avoid this. But that’s not what I don’t like about it. The product dries too quickly to blend out. If you dot it around your cheeks and then try to blend it, the dots will be darker and you can see them after you blend because they already started to dry. The only way to really use this is to spread it out well on a sponge and then dab it on the cheeks. It’s too much of a hassle for a $25 cheek product in my opinion.
  • Elf Shimmering Facial Whip ($1): Since this product is super cheap, it wasn’t a true waste of money but I still regret buying it just because I know I’ll never use it. I heard this was sort of a dupe for Benefit’s High Beam, but the formula is too thick and sticky for my liking. High Beam is much more blendable.
  • Maybelling Mega Plush mascara ($7.49): This mascara was advertised for having a “revolutionary gel mousse formula” but the formula actually makes it super thin and does hardly anything for lashes. It adds absolutely no volume and not much length. I would only use this if I was layering it with another mascara.
  • Maybelline Age Rewind Eraser Dark Spot concealer ($9.99): This is a good concealer but it almost seems like it oxidizes and becomes more yellow after applied. It just doesn’t look good on and I much prefer Maybelline Fit Me concealer.

Let me know of some products you regret buying too!

About VT Beauty Nerd

I'm a senior computer science major at Virginia Tech but my true passion is makeup, hair, and nails.

One response to “Products I Regret Buying!

  1. Pingback: Perfect Palette Tag! | VT Beauty Nerd

Leave a Reply

