Smashbox Wondervision Mega Palette! – Photos, Swatches, First Impression

For Christmas this year, I asked for the Smashbox Wondervision Mega Palette. I had seen the ad for it at Ulta and immediately looked up reviews and swatches. I don’t have any large palettes that have a big variety of colors so I’ve been looking for one to add to my collection. This palettes has 30 eyeshadows, 3 blushes, and a bronzer. The eyeshadow colors looked amazing! The palette also came with 4 cards for different eye looks you could do. I have seen palettes do this before, but the unique thing about this one is that the cards didn’t say to use specific colors – just colors 1, 2, 3, 4. The idea is that you can lay the card over any 4 shadows in the palette that are next to each other in a row and the look will work for that. I thought it was really cool that the colors are arranged that way!

First impression: All of the shadows (as well as the blushes and bronzer) are really pigmented and soft. Some of the darker colors are a tiny bit chalky, but it’s nothing that prevents them from being able to work with and create a good look. The top row of shadows has mostly matte browns that are very wearable and the lighter ones make good midtone and transition shades. I’m not a huge fan of the second row (warm peachy/orange shades) because I gravitate toward cooler shades for eyeshadow. I do like the shade Umber though – it’s a pretty unique shade of brown that almost has dark green undertones. The third row has some really nice blues and greens and I love the fourth row!! Beautiful pinks and purples with a nice pearly-pink shade. The bottom row is by far my favorite! It has some awesome silvers and grays and a gorgeous taupe!! The blushes are really pretty and 2 out of the 3 are matte, which is great because I prefer matte blushes. The bronzer is also matte and a nice shade that isn’t too orange or too dark for me since I have really fair skin.

The packaging isn’t the best. It’s that common cheap cardboard outside that I’ve seen on a lot of palettes. I wish the palette snapped shut and propped open better. I usually have to hold it open with my other hand while I use it. The cardboard backing on the original one I got for Christmas actually started separating on one of the sides so I had to exchange it. The outside also dents easily, as you can see in the bottom center of it in the picture below. The palette does have a nice big mirror though!

Closed palette

Closed palette

Open palette

Open palette

Palette with label insert

Palette with label insert

Eye look cards

Eye look cards

Palette with eye look card

How to use the eye look card with any adjacent 4 colors

I apologize about the lighting and shadows in the photos below – it was really sunny today! Also I’m sorry it’s hard to see some of the lighter shades on my pale arms haha

Row 1, left to right: beige, almond, golden, chestnut, fawn, chocolate

Row 1, left to right: beige, almond, golden, chestnut, fawn, chocolate

Row 2, left to right: taupe, peach, citrine, orange, red, umber

Row 2, left to right: taupe, peach, citrine, orange, red, umber

Row 3, left to right: maize, mint, turquoise, green, blue, dark blue

Row 3, left to right: maize, mint, turquoise, green, blue, dark blue

Row 4, left to right: pearl, pink, lavender, violet, purple, black

Row 4, left to right: pearl (super pretty!), pink, lavender, violet, purple, black

Row 5, left to right: silver, grey, slate (my favorite!!), brown, pewter, glitz

Row 5, left to right: silver, grey, slate (my favorite!!), brown, pewter, glitz

I really wanted to do a few looks using the cards and show you but I didn’t get a chance to play around with it enough before I had eye surgery last Wednesday. I can’t wear makeup on my right eye and I kind of look like a zombie :/ Maybe I’ll do some looks with this palette in a separate post after I recover.

What I look like right now...

What I look like right now…

About VT Beauty Nerd

I'm a senior computer science major at Virginia Tech but my true passion is makeup, hair, and nails.

Leave a Reply

